Mt. Mantalingajan Traverse: the Playlist

I really have no idea when I’ll have the time to tell the epic story of traversing Mt. Mantalingajan in its entirety but for the meantime, reminiscing about the little things that, when added up together made the climb awesome would have to do. Here is a compiled list of “Last Song Syndrome (LSS)” tracks that I (which may or may not have been shared among us three hehe) inevitably ended up humming during the four days that we were risking our lives just to climb Manta. Some of the songs make sense to me but some, as LSS often make them do, left me dumbfounded and confused. Amused, yes, but dumbfounded nonetheless. Osmosis huh? πŸ˜€

1. Hall of Fame by The Script – I found myself singing this during the rainiest of nights at the Lappong campsite

2. Die Young by Ke$ha – for this one, I entirely blame Tin. I don’t know why she sporadically hums this ‘song’ (or just the chorus really) and for what purpose but let’s just say, because she did, I ended up doing the same thing.

3. This Kiss by Carly Rae Jepsen – Another one of hers. For all her supposed badassery and intelligence, she really had the musical taste of a teeny bopper πŸ˜€

4. Ho Hey by The Lumineers – Maybe because I was on full album repeat mode on this one before I left Manila that I inevitably brought the hymns up to the mountains with me. πŸ™‚

5. Riff-off from Pitch Perfect – Singing this was the only way to calm my nerves while traversing the ridiculously dangerous trail towards the Tabud River while continuously being dowsed with rain.

6. Young, Wild & Free by Wiz Khalifa – To be honest, I wasn’t even aware of the song title until I googled it just now. For this one, we blame Sir Mayo. He inexplicably exposed us to this song on repeat during our first night in Puerto Princesa as we were downing beers while pre-cooking some of the meals that we were going to bring to Manta with us. And just like that, we were humming the chorus without any idea who the artist or what the song name even was!

But overall, the one that takes the cake is…

7. Daylight by Maroon 5 – Oh yes. I can’t remember how often we would break out in song with this track during our climb. I’m guessing our motivation was because we wanted to see daylight again because of the rain? Hmmm but I distinctly remember singing this even before the weather turned bad. For whatever the reason, this song will forever remind me of that awesome time that we successfully crossed Mt. Mantalingajan in four days. I included the Playing for Change version of the song because it was so much cooler. πŸ˜€

In retrospect, with all the songs that we were continuously humming (and given our abysmal talent at it…), maybe we shouldn’t be surprised that the Typhoon Crising decided to join us on the third day.

*I claim no ownership with the videos featured in this post

5 thoughts on “Mt. Mantalingajan Traverse: the Playlist

  1. Heyyy Kesha and Carly Rae are totally profound! Hahaha! Eh kasi pag nagkakakanta pa ako ng Joey Ayala dun baka mag-iiyak na ako every freakin' day of the climb. Hehe. By the way, Daylight is still my nonstop LSS until now. πŸ˜€

  2. Mental note: memorize every Kesha and Carly Rae song and sing them on our next climb. Wahahaha! Yung Playing for Change na version naman ng Daylight ang playing on repeat ngayon sakin. Hehe

Leave a Reply

